You want me to learn how many things?

This post will be my last post that is related to the readings or class meeting for the SI 643 class. This post will not, however, be my last post. I will continue to blog on issues related to libraries, digital humanities, instruction and information literacy, and anything else that intrigues or interests me. I will not, however, continue to do it in this space. This blog will migrate over to a blog which will start on my other WordPress site at http://rkclement.wordpress.com. That site is a personal site, currently with information about projects I have worked on, but is currently very much a work in progress. Expect more after graduation (April 27th).

Our last set of of readings for SI 643 seemed appropriately meta for the class as a whole, as part of them were clearly describing the instructional design inspirations for this very class. With that being said, I was also happy to read more about the source for the “23 Things” projects that Kristin had recently told me to look into. Some of them:

What I like so much about this idea, of having 23 (or 13, or 47) things that participants need to learn, but then learn at their own pace, is that is #1 amazingly scalable and #2 conducive to a state of mind. What I mean by this is that these projects, as discussed in the articles we read, are more and more focused on fostering an inquisitive and risk-taking point of view. Now, obviously, these risks are happening within limits of comfort, or just outside of them, but they are risk nonetheless, and risks that show the learners/participants that taking risks, making mistakes, and learning by play are all perfectly acceptable (and, indeed, some of the best ways to learn about new technologies). This is important, because, as we know, librarians are being asked to do more and more instruction with less and less and time and money – the best way to teach others about technology is to spend your time teaching them how to learn about technology, rather than always having to teach them about each new application or innovation.

Blogs, like the one I have been keeping along with SI 643 here, were also important parts of some of these different techniques we read about. I have also come to appreciate this blog as a method for both my own reflection and for the instructor’s assessment. Several times during this year, in other classes, I lamented not having a blogging requirement to supplement readings and discussion. I know I could write about the readings on my own, but it is different, and more conducive to keeping up with the task, to me, when you know there is a readymade audience for your writings. I have written a lot, and always enjoyed writing throughout my life, but this was the first blog I have ever written, and I quite enjoyed the experience. Here’s hoping that as the summer passes and I move into a new job that I can implement some new approaches to blogging – I think this will help to maintain my interest, and my development, as I move forward.

About rclement643

I am currently a graduate student at University of Michigan's School of Information. This blog is being kept as a place for reflections on the readings for the class
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You want me to learn how many things?

  1. northernwood says:

    “[T]he best way to teach others about technology is to spend your time teaching them how to learn about technology, rather than always having to teach them about each new application or innovation.” I feel it is a good distinction to make in theory but difficult to carry out in practice. The difficulty is probably partly due to the lack of assessment tools for learning technology in general–it is easy to find out whether the patron has learned a specific application or innovation, but difficult to understand whether he/she has mastered a technology.

Leave a Reply

